“Do I really have too?”

Standard

I am sure every parent has heard those words echoing with a whiny, nasally voice.  But if we are truthful, our kids learn this from us.

How often have we said words similar to that…”I’ll do it later”, “Next time”, “Not right now.” Or even just our actions and attitudes reflect an attitude of “Do I really have too?”

I am having a whiny day, and I am exuding an aura of “next time” and “come back later”.  School is almost over for the year, my students are at each others throats, I am tired of sounding like a broken record and don’t even get me started on my list of “Do I really have too” chores waiting for me at home.

(and here comes the kicker)

Yesterday, was Great Commission Sunday at my church.

Mmmhmm.

My pastor did a great sermon, and in between wrangling Peapod, I really got a lot out of it.  Jesus gave us a pretty simple job—-Go and tell.  Easy, right? Be nice, be careful not to get an “us versus them” mentality, even the littlest actions make a difference is showing the world that Jesus is Lord.  I left church feeling hopeful, having a renewed sense of “going and telling (doing)”

Then Monday hit and I am having such a hard time doing this.  Do I really have to teach today?  Do I really have to be positive right now?  Do I really have to go home and clean the house?  Do I really have to go for a run tonight?  Do I really have to be kind when other people are being anything but kind?

Yup.  “Go and tell [do]”.  Not so easy after all.  So, my constant prayer today is to be more like Jesus and to ask Him to help me show others through my actions and words.

Help me to go and tell in all that I do.

Matthew 28:16-20

New International Version (NIV)

The Great Commission

16 Then the eleven disciples went to Galilee, to the mountain where Jesus had told them to go. 17 When they saw him, they worshiped him; but some doubted. 18 Then Jesus came to them and said, “All authority in heaven and on earth has been given to me. 19 Therefore go and make disciples of all nations, baptizing them in the name of the Father and of the Son and of the Holy Spirit, 20 and teaching them to obey everything I have commanded you. And surely I am with you always, to the very end of the age.”

Leave a Reply

